24
Sep
09

Roads Not Traveled…

I was poking through some old data CDs and DVDs tonight and ran across these two:

StarTrek_TNG_Warp_Cruise

These animations run at different speeds on different computers, so I apologize if they look too fast or too slow!

They were created on an Atari ST at 320×200 pixels in a whopping 16 colors each!

StarTrek_Kling-gone

The animated GIFs seen here are tests I created in 1990 and 1992 when I was—as I did several times—dabbling in doing computer animation. This was a test at replicating a visual effect I’d seen on TV.

Around this time I toyed with trying to find work doing animated mockups for visual effects shots for TV and film. I was using relatively crude tools, but I’d seen what some other companies were passing off as such “animatics” (known as pre-vis these days) and knew that some of the work I’d done already was of higher quality than some of the professional work.

At the time I was going through a lot of personal crises and wasn’t focused or driven enough to have pursued this as I should have.

I don’t know if I’d have found any success in that business, but looking back it’s an interesting what-if.

I’ll try to dig up some more of this stuff and relate what I was thinking when I was doing it.

2 Responses to “Roads Not Traveled…”


  1. 1 Barry
    September 25, 2009 at 5:45 am

    Warp Cruise is cool, but it pales dimly in comparison to the Klingon Calamity. That was really well done.

    Was that ray-traced? What tools did you use?

    It’d be cool to see some of your old “Dirk Dude” stuff again. Didn’t you have an animation with him that you’d done to accompany “I know you” from that Catzeye album you’ve got?

    • 2 MrNeutronSF
      September 26, 2009 at 12:57 am

      I’m glad you liked then, but they were both tests of different things. Warp-cruise was to try to model the streaked star effect from TNG…and I didn’t move the ship around so the animation could loop. Klingon Calamity was to test modeling sparks in 3D for the “Earth shattering kaboom”!

      I still have most of the animations I’ve created over the years. The problem is that many are in proprietary formats that I can’t just run a converter on. I’m trying to figure out how to export them and maintain the original detail…I may be forced to step through them and save each out frame by frame to picture files and then have to recompile them into something else. Oy!


Leave a Reply

