15
Jun
11

Miss ROM

Do you remember ROM? Yes, I mean Read-Only Memory. Software that’s hard-coded into devices so they work and do what you want right away.

I went to look at a film on NetFlix the other day, but I couldn’t, because my Playstation 3 demanded a System Update ergo the Netflix application wouldn’t work until the update was complete.  That process took 20 minutes. This happens more often than I like, and while sometimes I can skip the update, sometimes the functionality of the program in question is negated until the update is performed.

The ability to update software is wonderful,  but really, how on-demand can the digital world be if you can’t actually do things when you want?

It’s times like this that I miss ROM.

0 Responses to “Miss ROM”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

